Virudhunagar Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91 

Virudhunagar is a Lok Sabha (Parliament of India) constituency in Tamil Nadu. Originally Sivakasi, it was converted into Virudhunagar after the 2008 delimitation.


Assembly segments

Virudhunagar constituency was formed in 2008. It comprises the following assembly segments;

  1. Virudhunagar
  2. Sattur
  3. Sivakasi
  4. Aruppukottai
  5. Tirumangalam
  6. Thirupparankundram.

Virudhunagar, Sattur and Sivakasi constituencies were hitherto with Sivakasi Lok Sabha constituency, Aruppukottai with Ramanathapuram Lok sabha constituency, Tirumangalam from Dindigul constituency and Thirupparankundram with Madurai Lok Sabha constituency.


Members of Parliament


Lok Sabha Duration Member Political Party
15th 2009-Incumbent Manicka Tagore Indian National Congress


2009 election results


General Election, 2009: Virudhunagar
Party Candidate Votes % ±%

Congress Manicka Tagore 307,187 40.01

MDMK Vaiko 291,423 37.96

Turnout 767,614

Congress hold Swing

UPA gain from TF Swing

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91